PDA

View Full Version : Laserfibre single action or Double action? Help....

5.0 TopDog
04-20-2004, 06:56 AM
Im planning to purchase MS200TT but can't decide double or single action..Money is not the subject..I just need help on the ease of use since I have never used any type of stringing machine before..Any suggestion on the pro and con? :roll:

christian
04-20-2004, 01:09 PM
Single action clamps is the way to go if money is not an issue. Even if it were you would end up switching to them in the long run. Single action clamps are much more easier, faster and more consistent because there is little to no slippage.

brtennis
04-20-2004, 06:10 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, it seems that single action clamp is an old design. I don't exactly know why but most new and high-end machines come with two-action clamp.

Loud
04-21-2004, 03:03 AM
I would much rather use one movement to lock in a clamp than two.

CheapStrings
04-21-2004, 03:47 PM
FYI, Tim Sullivan says the SA's have fewer mechanical parts, will need less maintenance in the long run, and you can't forget to lock the clamps thereby losing tension on your whole string job.

topspin
04-21-2004, 04:53 PM
I tried both and loved the single actions much more than the duals. Old design? I'm not so sure, all I know is they work really nice and smooth and I dont' have to worry about locking the base or having to adjust the clamp base everytime like you have to do with the duals. The only instance where I would recommend the duals is if you're already used to that system having strung on other machines. If you're a first time stringer, I'd suggest the singles.

Eug
04-21-2004, 07:03 PM
I think your wrong in your comment Christian that DA clamps have more slippage. DA clamps slip LESS becase the base itself gets locked and then the strings get clamped so u have more "clampage". Many stringers told me this.

prince
04-22-2004, 06:32 PM
i got the single action clamps .
first time stringer .

Loud
04-22-2004, 08:29 PM