PDA

View Full Version : Wonderful forum + important lesson learned

Porsche CGT
06-05-2005, 08:00 PM
I am 13 years old and I started playing tennis when I was about 8. I went to a few clinics 2-3 years ago, but never was a serious player (or a very good one). Yesterday I went and played tennis for the first time in almost a year. Obviously, I did not play very well. I framed a lot of my shots, hit a lot into the net, and hit some 2 courts away.

When I finished playing I was quite angry because I was so bad. I was even more determined, however. Determined to improve my game. I started searching for tips online, and found this forum. I read it for about an hour last night, and read it for another hour or two today. Earlier tonight I went and played using some techinques I read here, and I must say my game has improved greatly.

The biggest things I changed were to use a looping backswing and get my upper body into the swing more. Even when I first arrived, I was better, although not terribly too much. I hit against a wall for 20 minutes, and then played against my parents (who weren't much of a competition). By the time I left, I could hit 60% of my forehands in play with decent accuracy and a fairly good amount of power and spin. Of course I still hit some into other courts, sailed some way over, and hit quite a few into the net, I improved much more than I could have ever imagined (I'm just talking about my forehand. My backhand is still weak and my serve is AWFUL.)

I know most people won't believe what I say (this thread comes to mind (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=54250)), and I really don't care. I am a quick learner in everything from academics to sports. Whether you believe it or not, I'd like to thank all the great members of this forum for posting such great advice.