PDA

View Full Version : String problems

pablobg
12-07-2010, 02:44 PM
Hi everybody!
I wanna ask you about the appropriate strings for me...
i have been playing for several years, i have enough control but not too much power because i'm a little skinny...
I play with a Wilson SixOne Team, 10.2qz/289gr. and 55 lbs/25 kg of string tension.
How much less tension should i get to hit with greater power, without losing control? 2lb, 4lb, ...?

Thank you! See you guys!

TheBoom
12-07-2010, 02:46 PM
53-56 for power but if you want to make your own power add lead. How do you feel the power level is now?

pablobg
12-07-2010, 02:53 PM
I used to play with a lot of top spin, i have to make a lot of effort to get very powered shots, specially with the forehand.
I think i should have 52-53lb, but i'm not sure, don't you think my actual tension is very high?
Thank you for answer so quickly, TheBoom!

kiteboard
12-07-2010, 02:56 PM
Lead it up, it's too light for any power.

Jonny S&V
12-07-2010, 02:56 PM
What do you string with normally? If you use full-poly, you might want to look into a hybrid. If you use a hybrid or full syngut/multi/nattygut, then I would look into dropping the tension.

mikeler
12-07-2010, 02:57 PM
What kind of strings do you use?

Mighty Matteo
12-07-2010, 03:02 PM
string 45. it will probably feel better and there will be a lot more pop!

pablobg
12-07-2010, 03:07 PM
Thank you everybody!
It's the first time i post here, and the welcome couldn't be better!

I bought the racquet last September with Wilson Enduro Tour 1.30 String. I got the economic strings, because i wanted to test the racquet before spend more money.
I'm not worried about the string type but the tension. Once i had the tension, may be i could look for advanced strings!

Jonny S&V
12-07-2010, 03:08 PM
Lead it up, it's too light for any power.

I don't think it's very smart to make such blanket statements as this.

mikeler
12-08-2010, 04:21 AM
Thank you everybody!