PDA

View Full Version : Usta Rating In ******* Is A Joke !!!!!

twocents
06-11-2005, 05:24 AM
I've been playing USTA for more than 15 years. I was rated 4.5 right out of College like most people are and now at age 52 am a Benchmark 4.0.
Since the Self rating system came into being a few years ago, 20 yr old (4.5)College Players are rating themselves as 4.0 so they can make the playoffs in some clubs. This includes the teaching pros who a couple years ago were playing 5.0. The also are rating 4.5's from their own clubs as 4.0. They say it's necessary to go anywhere in the playoffs. It doesn't make sense when these guys playing for Cleveland State a Yr ago are beating Teaching Pros 6-2,6-2 and are able to rate themselves as as 4.0s.
Our captain wrote to the 4.0 Coordinator as to what's going on:
I received an E-mail today from Ron Gander (4.0 coordinator) regarding my complaint about the team. He said there is nothing he can do about it, and referred me to the North East Ohio Coordinator Dale Hartwig. I sent Dale an E-mail today, and he responded back with a phone call.
Dale is aware and understands this situation, but also told me that his hands are also tied. He said the USTA powers that be make up the rules. He does not agree with the self rating system, but does not have the power to change it.
So go ahead rates yourselves 3.0, good luck in the playoffs, and tell Dale (he's always there at the playoffs) it's a great rule and you'll see him next year too.
Any feedback positive or negative would be appreciated.

goober
06-11-2005, 06:30 AM
I am surprised you have played USTA 15 years and you just come to realize this. Sandbagging is a time honored tradition that allows you to feed your ego by getting to Nationals. One of the recent 5.0 teams that won Nationals had several players that were former tour players ATP rankings in the 300-500 range and had a player that was conference player of the year in college just the year before.