PDA

View Full Version : How hard is Calculus?

KBlade
01-10-2011, 12:38 AM
I'll be taking the first semester of Calculus next semester and I'm not really sure what to expect. I just ordered the textbook online (author is Stewart, I hear its popular) so I won't be able to preview the material for a few days. But I think its stuff like functions, limits, integrals, etc. My professor has pretty decent reviews so I'm not too worried about her teaching skills.

The problem is I'm not very good at math. I typically get C's when I put in the minimum amount of work (doing just assigned hw), and I get B's when I really work my *** off. For some reason its impossible for me to get A's. If its any indicator of future success/failure, I took PreCalc last semester and got a C. But again, with minimum amount of work because I was swamped with other classes and work. However I'm quitting my job and taking fairly easy classes so I'll devote myself 110% to calculus.

subz
01-10-2011, 04:24 AM
You have to practice a lot if you want to become good at Calculus ! I was always good at maths but my over confidence got the good of me. In the second semester I FAILED in Calculus-II. I repeated the course and got an A :) My tip is to practice as many exercise questions as you can. My favourite calculus book is a book by Howard Anton.The text book was Calculus, 6th Ed, by Swokowski, Olinick, and Pence

You have to work hard and if you are in engineering then calculus is a very important subject !

EDIT: I also focused a lot on the theoratical explanations which each chapter has in the begining :)

athiker
01-10-2011, 04:45 AM
Its different for different people. My only advice is its one of those subjects most have to keep on top of as the semester goes along. It doesn't lend itself very well to cramming.

Bud
01-10-2011, 06:57 AM