PDA

View Full Version : Help Finding Job

chicken nugget
01-14-2011, 06:11 PM
I'm a 16y/o student waiting for school

I want to get a job and I want to know how much I should expect to get an hour. I have no working experience before. I'm interested in shops and not office jobs

Also, what is the right approach in asking a company for a job?

thanks

dlk
01-14-2011, 06:17 PM
Before someone makes a corny joke about your username & how it relates to a job, I thought I'd chime in. If you're in the US, probably looking at around minimum wage, not sure about work-laws. Go for a tennis club or something related to what you plan to do after college. Good Luck.

!<-_->!
01-14-2011, 06:47 PM
At your age and with no prior experience, your best bet would probably be the food service industry or a club or something if you know how to string.

zapvor
01-14-2011, 07:06 PM
you mean tennis shops?

r2473
01-14-2011, 07:13 PM
Have you thought about shoplifting? My high school friends used to steal cd's from K-mart for extra cash.

babbette
01-15-2011, 10:39 AM
Plenty of people's first jobs are in clothes stores, as was mine, like in h&m, top shop etc. Go for them. They're quite fun especially if in big cities. You get to interact with a lot of tourists aswell and build confidence.

jester911
01-15-2011, 10:48 AM
My son got a summer job last year making $9 per hour at a local grocery store with no prior experience. Now that he is in college they allow him to work during winter holiday and summer breaks.

If you are looking for a first time job you may need to be a little more open minded about the types of jobs you apply for. Right now with the present unemployment numbers there are many many applicants with way more qualifications than you trying to find work.

Good luck.

TheIrrefutableOne
01-15-2011, 04:08 PM
Where do you live ?

max
01-15-2011, 04:56 PM