PDA

View Full Version : How can I become a police officer?

banter
01-14-2011, 10:40 PM
I am currently a sophomore in college. I'm a kinesiology major, who wants to stay in athletics, but has always had an interest in law enforcement.

I'm curious, what are the steps in becoming a police officer?
Do I need a specific degree?
What can I do now and what should I be doing?

BobFL
01-14-2011, 10:49 PM
Here you go

http://tinyurl.com/4mf2nl9

banter
01-14-2011, 10:54 PM
Well yes, I have a general understanding of the rundown. Thanks. But I'm mainly after what I can be doing now and what tips y'all can offer. Sorry to mislead with the title.

jaggy
01-15-2011, 06:18 AM
Be a jock, fail your exams, get bullied a lot.........joking.........kind of.

Dave M
01-15-2011, 06:41 AM
You thought about looking into it at hte local police station?

max
01-15-2011, 06:47 AM
Join an Explorer or Venture scout unit associated with a police dept; nice entry into the world of policing.

subz
01-15-2011, 09:02 AM
Isn't there a national or state academy for police officers ? Your first stop should be the academy's website.

You thought about looking into it at hte local police station?

That also sounds like a good plan. I am sure you will find info at the police station. You can call or email them and ask if you can visit them to discuss your plans.

Another method is to get arrested for a minor crime. In this way, you will get a free visit to the police station, get an opportunity to meet nice police officers (hopefully you wont experience an brutality ;) ) and you can get a feel of the kind of work you should expect. Of course getting arrested will lower your chances of being an officer....:-?

albino smurf
01-15-2011, 09:29 AM

beat me to it

Ronaldo
01-15-2011, 09:45 AM
Best look into your school's Criminal Justice program and find out the avg. wage for Police Officers.

mctennis
01-15-2011, 09:48 AM