PDA

View Full Version : Ball Stuck In The Throat Of Racket!!


Noltae
02-04-2011, 05:27 PM
Never In all my 30 something of years playing have have I seen this happen before - What happened was a non tennis friend of mine was in town for the weekend and said he fancied a hit - so I obliged and took him down to the club for a knock about - he was using old an APD that I had lying around... Now this guy bless him certainly has little to no timing and was miss hitting and framing the ball like crazy actually giving me a half decent run around due to the random shank induced ball placement when I had to double take - for a split second I thought the ball had vanished! No it had become lodged in his racket throat ! I found this ridiculously funny :) What are the chances of this happening again I wonder ? Has anyone else had this happen or seen it happen? Thinking it maybe slightly more possible with the tear drop shape of the Aero Pro than say a box beam but even so how Random !
Please share more tennis randomness :)

dlk
02-04-2011, 05:33 PM
My daughter did it once (9 y/o):)

hescobal
02-04-2011, 05:44 PM
I must be special, I've done it twice

soleil
02-04-2011, 05:46 PM
Happened to my little sister a few times :)

danielrios
02-04-2011, 05:51 PM
Haha Lol, I did it once with a 6.1 tour, and thought the same. I did look to the sky several times until I realize what really happened.

soleil
02-04-2011, 05:54 PM
Haha Lol, I did it once with a 6.1 tour, and thought the same. I did look to the sky several times until I realize what really happened.

Haha that's exactly what happens!

Jaewonnie
02-04-2011, 05:59 PM
Happened to me when trying to backhand volley. I knew I framed somthing but no shot came off so looked at my throat and there it was :p

Similar thing happened to me when playing badminton with crappy school rackets. The guy lobbed it over the net and I smashed at it like mad and the birdie disappeared. Look at my racket and the birder was stuck in between my strings.

GetBetterer
02-04-2011, 06:06 PM
Happened on a forehand to me (lol I know). It was a heavily sidespun (lefty) slice which I swung at because it was slow, and to my amazement, got stuck right in the throat.

Steady Eddy
02-04-2011, 06:36 PM
I've seen it happen more than once, every time on an overhead. Each time everyone looked around for where the ball was, until it would be discovered in the throat of the racquet.

SFrazeur
02-04-2011, 06:38 PM
Never happened to me. However, I've seen it happen upwards of a dozen of so times.

-SF

RealityPolice
02-04-2011, 06:49 PM
Serena at work.

/kidding

kishnabe
02-04-2011, 07:22 PM
I did it three times....really funny sometimes!

VGP
02-04-2011, 07:25 PM
This too happened a couple of times to my sister while we were playing over the years.....

So, what's the rule if this happens?

Can you then throw your racket over the net into your opponent's court and claim the point?

Or does your swing have to be one motion? Like how you can't "carry" the ball....

Steady Eddy
02-04-2011, 08:32 PM
This too happened a couple of times to my sister while we were playing over the years.....

So, what's the rule if this happens?

Can you then throw your racket over the net into your opponent's court and claim the point?

Or does your swing have to be one motion? Like how you can't "carry" the ball....This was discussed once here before. You can't do that, :( , you lose the point.

max
02-04-2011, 08:32 PM
I had that happen once.

8F93W5
02-04-2011, 08:40 PM
I've seen it maybe 3 times. I've been playing since 1988

donnygg
02-04-2011, 09:59 PM
Serena at work.

/kidding

LOL!

10 char

Noltae
02-05-2011, 12:29 AM
Didn't realize folk would have seen this happen as much as they claim - obviously not finding the sweet spot that day guys lol !
Now for my second installment of randomness ! ... I played against a friend who badly shanked a 1st serve which resulted in the ball rebounding off the adjacent floodlight post and then back into play consequently aceing me ... It was too funny needless to say I gave him the point ! Not even sure of the rules on this one ...

dr325i
02-05-2011, 12:55 AM
My daughter did it once (9 y/o):)

my 9-y-o daughter did it twice in last 30 days...

ProgressoR
02-05-2011, 01:01 PM
Been playing a year it happened to be about a month ago. I was hitting an overhead badly and thought I framed it and look upwards for it. Then my coach who was watching started laughing and I saw it stuck in the throat. Very funny.

PeterPanda
02-06-2011, 05:24 PM
in the past year like 4 times.

Big boss.
04-27-2013, 10:19 PM
My girlfreind was watching me play, so I was trying to show off, the guy hits a lob after forcing me to the net, I tried to smash it over my head, and this happened! The crowd laughed at me as I turned around everywhere looking for it, my face turning red. I assumed I lost the point, thus me losing the third set on the thirtieth deuce, I was so ****ed that when I went to smash my racket on the floor, I noticed, and literally fell over laughing. :)

Leelord337
04-27-2013, 10:37 PM
Never In all my 30 something of years playing have have I seen this happen before - What happened was a non tennis friend of mine was in town for the weekend and said he fancied a hit - so I obliged and took him down to the club for a knock about - he was using old an APD that I had lying around... Now this guy bless him certainly has little to no timing and was miss hitting and framing the ball like crazy actually giving me a half decent run around due to the random shank induced ball placement when I had to double take - for a split second I thought the ball had vanished! No it had become lodged in his racket throat ! I found this ridiculously funny :) What are the chances of this happening again I wonder ? Has anyone else had this happen or seen it happen? Thinking it maybe slightly more possible with the tear drop shape of the Aero Pro than say a box beam but even so how Random !
Please share more tennis randomness :)

That happened to me a few times actually! been years since its happened though.

The oddball thing that happened to me during a match once is that somebody else hit a ball on our court and it hit our rally ball in mid-Air!!! I thought that was very very crazy! I guess I've spent too many hours on court :)

pkshooter
05-03-2013, 04:34 AM
I've seen it happen frequently... Never had the joy me self doe

pingu
05-03-2013, 09:17 AM
It happened during our doubles match last week when my partner hit a soft return, the other net guy saw the opportunity and whacked the ball as he loves to do. The ball some how got stuck on the throat of his racket and all players around saw it and laughed so hard. As for me and my partner, we not only felt great to win that lucky point, we also enjoy seeing this cocky dude embarrassed himself.

NTexas
05-03-2013, 11:09 AM
Happened to me but also saved my nuts. Doubles opponent hit a smash at point blank range. i put my racquet down to save me and it stuck in the neck, man it was close to being ugly.

max
05-03-2013, 01:59 PM
I must be special, I've done it twice

I think I"ve also done this at least twice, but you know, this really is not to my credit! :)

Tamiya
05-11-2013, 07:44 PM
what's the call in these situations... is ball still "in play" until it next hits the ground in/out? :twisted:

Fuji
05-11-2013, 08:02 PM
I`ve done it once on an overhead, and once on a serve. The serve one blew my mind since I was trying to see where my ball went off the toss. Screwed me right up! :razz:

-Fuji

RogueFLIP
05-11-2013, 08:14 PM
Haven't seen this in a long time....

But yes, very, very funny when everyone is looking at the sky, at the ground, like where did the ball go? And then realizing that the ball is in someone's racket.

Thanks for the good chuckle from my memory banks. :)