PDA

View Full Version : Medical School

Touch of Grey
02-14-2011, 08:36 PM
Hello to all. I am currently a sophomore in high school, at a very solid public school. I want to go to a medical school after a 4-year university (obviously). I just want to know what it takes to make it into medical school. (I know it is very difficult). At this point in time I have a 3.7 (hoping to make it a 4.0 by the end of semester). Next year I am taking a solid work load, Honors English, AP US history, Pre-calc, AP stats, AP art history, Chemistry. My extra curricular activities are pretty solid in my opinion. Did a leadership thing where I helped incoming students in my middle school learn the school. Also over spring break I'm going to Mexico to help build houses for the impoverished. I'm working on a garden and I will give the crops to a local food shelter near me, and I'm doing various other activities like that to help the less fortunate.

Is there anything else I can do to improve my chances in getting into a good college/ anything I should do in the future to help my chances with med. school.

Oh, and my tennis will also help me to get into a good college, I am between 150-200 nationally for my class.

Thank you.

tennisnoob3
02-14-2011, 08:39 PM
med school= grad school, you're quite far away.

if you want a college admissions forum, go to college confidential

mikeler
02-15-2011, 06:02 AM
Stay away from Mexico or you may not have a chance to go to college.

Find out the easiest undergrad degree you can have to get into med school. It worked for a buddy of mine. Another girl I went to school with who was valedictorian picked a super hard undergrad degree and did not have high enough grades to get into med school, so she ended up going to law school.

mctennis
02-15-2011, 09:49 PM