PDA

View Full Version : Stringing racket and then mounting to pull tension


Fortylove
04-23-2004, 04:26 AM
Does anyone have a technique to string a racket without it mounted on a stringer, and then mount it to pull tension?

Gaines Hillix
04-23-2004, 10:49 AM
Never heard of doing this, but you could pre-lace at least the mains off the machine. I think it would be much more difficult to weave the crosses with the frame off the machine.

Fortylove
04-23-2004, 11:32 AM
The reason I ask is that I have seen rackets prelaced with one piece and it went as far as half of the crosses. Just wanted to
know if there was a technique for this. There were hoops with
the extra string at certain points so that you can place the string
in the gripper when mounted.

David Pavlich
04-25-2004, 01:31 PM
You can do it but why? How much time are you going to save? If it were that much more efficient, you'd see the pros doing it.

I think you'll find that the experienced stringers here are fairly conventional and do most racquets in 15 to 20 minutes without being rushed.

David

Steve Huff
04-25-2004, 08:06 PM
Also, it would be so easy to misweave if you didn't have any tension on the mains.

David Pavlich
04-26-2004, 02:38 PM
Also, it would be so easy to misweave if you didn't have any tension on the mains.

That's something I hadn't thought about. Good point!

David