PDA

View Full Version : BLX Six.One 18x20 String Options

Mockys2k
03-15-2011, 07:44 AM
Hello...

This is my first time posting so if I used the search (but not well enough) my apologies in advance...

I am a 4.0/4.5 player that made the switch from the Roddick GT Plus to a Six.One 18x20. I use a mix of Black Code 18g main/Pro Mix 17g cross at 58lbs. When I made the switch to Six.One, I used the same setup.

Groundstrokes feel great and volleys feel great with this combination in the Six.One... I am much more consistant and I feel like I'm not "launching" the ball like I had a tendency to do with the Babolat...I feel much more comfortable hitting out on the ball with the Six.One and my volleys feel much more crisp.

I am, however, lacking pop and kick in one major component of my game... Serve.....it feels (and I've been told it is), significantly slower, and my kick serve both down the T (deuce side), and out wide (on the ad side) are definitely lacking...

Before I start researching the option of possibly making another racquet switch (which I'd prefer not to do)...I was curious if anyone had any recommendations .... maybe chang up the string ? Tension? Keep in mind, my biggest concern with dropping tension is the consistancy I am currently enjoying hitting out and not worrying about the ball leaving fuzz on the backstop ;)

Sorry for the long first post... long time lurker, first time poster :)

greystar403
03-15-2011, 07:48 AM
weiss cannon scorpion 1.22...

-maintains tension LIKE NO OTHER

-17L gauge for extra spin (thinner guage better for dense string pattern)

-very soft for a poly

just one thing...string it 1-3lbs lower because it can take a while to break into...probably the AMAZING TENSION HOLD!!

brownbearfalling
03-15-2011, 08:52 AM
As for string options, I would recommend a stiffer 18g poly. Stiffer poly = more pop. Personally, I like weisscannon silver string. If you want to stick with tecnifibre strings, try red code 18g.