PDA

View Full Version : Question

akj27
06-22-2005, 11:54 AM
Alright, I got a tournament July 6th, I think I'm ready for it, my strokes are consistent, everything is fine, except for my serve, I've been training for like 5 months now, and I never just serve for a certain amount of time, my serve is a joke, and in order for me to win my first match, I have to improve my serve. Any ideas, suggestions? Ill have like 2 more classes before the tourney starts. THink i should focus on serves only?

Camilio Pascual
06-22-2005, 12:05 PM
Yes. As you said, everything else is fine, so if it ain't broke....
You mention classes, are you going out with a ball hopper by yourself and just practicing serves? If not, I suggest you get a 50 or 75 ball hopper and do so. good luck.

Ztalin
06-22-2005, 12:06 PM
My serve sucks too, and what I'm planning on doing is waking up every morning and hitting the tennis courts alone and just serving for an hour or so. I seemed to make quite an improvement on my kick serve just today thanks to the tips from this board.

akj27
06-22-2005, 12:08 PM
Yes, I practice serves in front of my coach, he then critiques(sp?) it, and stuff

safin_protege
06-22-2005, 12:15 PM
Well then, you should definitely do that, but of course, work on your groundstrokes and volleys for 7 mins each to keep them sharp. Don't hit to many serves beforehand though, or you'll hurt your arm. Worst case scenario-take pace off of it :/

cervelo
06-22-2005, 12:24 PM
3 quick hints:

1st step: develop a more positive outlook in serving- calling it a joke isn't a good starting point for development. Understand that the serve is the most "technically demanding" stroke in tennis and rightfully deserves a very high level of practice and attention - Strategically, it can and should be the most dictating and respected stroke also. It's the only stroke guaranteed to be struck on every point, yet we all practice it way less than we should.