PDA

View Full Version : PK Ki5 PSE vs KPS88

Fliparoni
05-07-2011, 04:13 PM
Hey guys. I've been using the KPS88 for a couple of years now, and out of sheer restlessness, I've been looking to try something different but not too different. The PK Ki5 PSE has the same static and swingweights but has a 100 inch headsize vs the 88 for the KPS, and is just two points less stiff than the KPS. This, to me, falls under the "different but not too different" category for me.

I was wondering if anyone here has used both frames and could compare the two (spin, control, serving, etc.)

Thanks!

Kemitak
05-07-2011, 05:02 PM
Ki5 PSE puts a little more spin on the ball; feels very clean and crisp; doesn't produce as heavy a ball, but the ball is faster and jumps off the court more. It has lots of control, but if I swing away when I'm lazy and my feet aren't set up, the ball will fly. I have to stay over the ball to see it go in. I find my chip backhand doesn't drop in sometimes, but carries on another foot or two. I notice my chip rarely floats, it's nearly always a strong, driving chip. I serve well with it, plenty of spin or pace, and sometimes both, but it feels a little cumbersome with the big head (it's my first and only mid-plus racquet). Volleys are terrific if in position, but not so good for reaction volleys. I've only had mine about a month, so I'm not quite honed in yet, but it does everything I expect it to. My one complaint, so far, is that, even though it looks cool, the chrome decals on the throat can reflect the light right into my eyes on my follow through, and after about an hour and a half, I develop a nice blind spot on the left half of my left eye.