PDA

View Full Version : Leaving London...

Davro
05-21-2011, 08:53 PM
So I am leaving London after a 6 month love affair.

A little background is in order I suppose. I have been a member here for just under a year, mostly as a lurker. I started playing tennis a year ago this week after having been an athlete my whole life and am now a 4.0 Usta player. I played professional soccer in England for a brief time and other sports in high school, but since I am 31 now, I needed a sport that I wasnt going to get a broken leg from. In any event, after dabbling with a few racquets, I found the London based off of reviews on this forum and have been pretty pleased. However, after an extensive demo of the Prince Exo3 tour 100 18x20, I have to make the switch.

My ground strokes have improved and are much more versatile. The flex of the racquet allows for me to be very aggressive and offensive without worrying about hitting the ball into the parking lot. Once you get accustomed to the feel of the stick, things are very predictable. Volleys are nice with a cushioned and yet still solid feel. The London has a nice feel to it, but it always seemed like there was not enough upside. I got a lot of feedback, but it didnt improve on anything enough to make me say wow.

Service return with the Exo3 Tour is outstanding and I feel I can put my opponent under pressure every time they give me an opening. The only area I dont know if I can give to the Prince over the Becker is in serving, but I dont think I give anything up in that regard. I think that with a little more time, the Prince will fill my serve needs well.

As sad as it is, my two Londons are going to be leaving my bag soon. I really wanted to love these sticks, but a prettier girl came by and I have to buy her a drink. I dont think I can sell them just yet as we've had some really good times, but if I keep playing this well with the Prince stick they may have to go.

canadad
05-21-2011, 09:47 PM