PDA

View Full Version : Donnay Pro One replacement suggestions...

pro1ltd
06-26-2005, 08:54 PM
Hi,

I need some advice.

I've been using a Donnay Pro One Limited Edition for about 12 years. I feel the lack of vibration dampening qualities of this racquet has contributed to an elbow problem. Or could it be the 18.5mm beam?

I use a soft string, Technifibre NRG2 or X One / 17, but I find it very difficult to play with low tensions, below 60lbs.

So, I've been looking for a new racquet.

I hit with a very heavy top spin forehand, flat single handed back hand and have a heavy flat 1st serve, depend on kick/slice on 2nd. Mainly a baseliner, but visit the net on occasion.

I've yet to find anything that has a similar feel, swing weight vs spin potential of the Donnay Pro One.

I was given a Wilson Pro Staff Classic / 6.1, I strung this with Technifibre NGR2 /17 @ 60lbs and I seem to play well with this racquet, and I liked the added control of the smaller head. I also liked the Wilson Pro Staff 6.0 95.

I've since tried the following:-

Prince Diablo MP (Too light and I can feel the shock all the way up my arm, very nice bite on the ball though 16x18 ).

Wilson Pro Staff Tour 95 (Too light, but nice feel).

Head Liquid Metal Radical Tour (Too powerful, but correct tension / string could tame maybe, but 18x20 too dense)

Head Liquid Metal Prestige MP (I prefered the feel over the Radical, but again, the stringing pattern too dense, but most comfortable of the lot)

Liquid Metals seem to have good stablity. The Prince twists with off centre shots too easily, I think due to its feather weight. Not interested in fly weight 03's.