PDA

View Full Version : Did I mess up/get the wrong racket?

Davidn20
05-26-2011, 12:35 PM
I recently just bought a Microgel Radical MP racquet with Ashaway crossfire ii string at 60lb. My question is did I mess up? Everything I have been reading tells me that I should have string Kevlar at a much lower tension. The reason why I strung it at such high tension is because I like to hit the ball really hard and my shots usually lands just out. I was hoping that if I had higher tensions I would be able to keep the ball in-bound more. Well, yesterday while playing with my new racquet I wasn't totally impressed because I was still hitting the ball out of bounds and it has gotten really hard for me to add topspin to my shots.

I was wondering what should I do? Should I get it restring or is it just because I have the wrong technique.

*Information about my playing style*
I just started playing tennis about a year ago. I am athletic and I like to make powerful shots across the net. As of right now my shots are really flat, but I'm trying to change that.

goran_ace
05-26-2011, 02:49 PM
yes, kevlar at 60 is way too high. normally I would say that if you just started, then just play with what you got, and that it doesn't really matter what you're using because you need to work on building technique, but in this case it could actually cause injury. improper technique + trying to swing hard + kevlar at high tension is a recipe for tennis elbow.

to control your shots, no equipment is going to do that for you. you need to control your swing first. you can't just dial it in because you don't have a consistent, repeatable stroke to dial in yet.

my suggestions is to have that racket restrung with a basic synthetic gut at mid-range (~57lbs) ASAP.

Larrysümmers
05-26-2011, 02:52 PM
^i agree with def get that thing restrung with something else.

Fuji
05-26-2011, 03:34 PM