PDA

View Full Version : To: all the TW forum experts. Serious question on Grip size. Please help

Fedace
06-01-2011, 02:45 PM
Did this happen to any of you ? I have been playing with 4 and 5/8 grip size for many years even though my hand sizing chart saids i should use 4 1/2 grip size. and for really odd reason, i kept on getting more and more comfy with bigger and bigger grip size and now i am using 4 and 7/8 grip size. I have built it up with Very thick replacement grip ( Gamma Pro RX ) and with 2 very thick over-grips like Pro supex overgrip.

Now after 3-4 years, i am realizing that it maybe hurting me on the serve. I am finding that it is more difficult to pronate and control the serve with such big grip. Do you guys think this makes sense ?? and also i am getting late on some shots, does this make sense ??

What do you guys recommend ? should i go back to 5/8 as before ?

eman resu
06-01-2011, 02:59 PM
Yep. Smaller is better for serving.

Fuji
06-01-2011, 03:00 PM
I'd try going back to your "home" grip size and see how it works out. I'm surprised you still even have bevels left! :) I know for me, pronating with an XL grip is difficult.

-Fuji

Fedace
06-01-2011, 03:05 PM
I'd try going back to your "home" grip size and see how it works out. I'm surprised you still even have bevels left! :) I know for me, pronating with an XL grip is difficult.

-Fuji

I just felt like it was more difficult to get the Massive topspin with the home grip size. i feel like i can get more topspin on my shots with bigger grip like 4 7/8 grip size. Does that make sense ?

and the Trend in modern tennis is Smallest grip size possible as 90% of the pros are doing. Is this also the same for the Amateurs as well ?? If so why ?

vsbabolat
06-01-2011, 03:09 PM
I just felt like it was more difficult to get the Massive topspin with the home grip size. i feel like i can get more topspin on my shots with bigger grip like 4 7/8 grip size. Does that make sense ?