PDA

View Full Version : Trying to downsize the grip of my babolat aeropro storm

bignate76
06-02-2011, 12:57 PM
i bought a babolat aeropro storm cortex. my old racquet was a 5/8 grip so when i found this one i jumped on it. the racquet is awsome but the grip is to big . i am not experienced enough with racquets so i wanted to ask the dumb question : CAN I DOWNSIZE THE GRIP? any answers are welcome!

LeeD
06-02-2011, 01:01 PM
Remove grip, use only an overgrip.
If you have any carpenter skills, you can plane down each of the flat surfaces with a power planer availible at HarborFreight for only $39.
If you can clamp the racket down, and don't want to invest in surfboard shaping power tools, you can file down each flat.

bignate76
06-02-2011, 01:07 PM
Remove grip, use only an overgrip.
If you have any carpenter skills, you can plane down each of the flat surfaces with a power planer availible at HarborFreight for only $39.
If you can clamp the racket down, and don't want to invest in surfboard shaping power tools, you can file down each flat.

i removed worn overgrip that was on the racquet and went with a babolat woofer grip. still feels funny in my hand. this is my first babolat and a serious upgrade in racquet from my wilson hammer. i might try the shaving down of the grip.

LeeD
06-02-2011, 01:11 PM
"still feels FUNNY in my hand.."
Does that mean the grip is too big, too small, or is the shape something you are not used to?

LeeD
06-02-2011, 01:12 PM
I find it hard to believe you can find a L5 Bab anywhere in the world, least of all, an L6.

bignate76
06-02-2011, 01:17 PM
i bought it off "big auction site" before i found the TW board. i didnt overpay for the racquet and all the numbers matched up on it. had it restrung at my local shop and he told me it was a legit babolat. i was hoping the more i hit with it the better it will feel to me. but everytime i play i want a smaller grip size and thats all thats on my mind.

LeeD
06-02-2011, 01:20 PM