PDA

View Full Version : What kind of lead tape should I use for organix 10?

tennis-kid
06-06-2011, 03:03 PM
Hi
I purchased Organix 10 295g racket. It is on the way. I'd like to add some lead on the butt area and some on the 11 oclock and 2 oclock.
I heard someone used double density lead tape. I couldn't find any double density so far.
Which is better one between 1/2" or 3/4"? I have no experience.
If you have experience please share your thought.

flashfire276
06-06-2011, 03:33 PM
Lead tape comes in 2 different widths: 1/2 inch, and 1/4 inch.
Of course, smaller size means less weight on a pre-cut 1 inch strip. But choose your thickness based on how you're going to use it. If you want to lean inside the hoop (on the sides of the grommet holes) it's great to use 1/4. If you want to put it on the handle, throat, or whatever, 1/2 is pretty good.
And also, remember how much weight you want. Using 1/4 inch can help you get a precise amount because of it's smaller size.

Double density, I'm not sure about that. But I know that Babolat lead tape is twice as heavy as standard Gamma lead tape. So one inch of Babolat tape is the same weight as two inches of Gamma. So if you want to put a lot of weight and use less tape, that's a good way to go.

Steve Huff
06-06-2011, 07:48 PM
I also use Babolat lead tape. You would have to really be "micro-tuning" a racket to need the lighter tape. Babolat sticks well too.

TennisCJC
06-07-2011, 08:42 AM