PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Racquet Advice Thread

John Dark
06-28-2005, 10:37 AM
Hi folks.

I just started playing again recently and am looking for a beginner racquet I can grow with. Have done a bunch of research and spec compiling on a few dozen models and have narrowed it down to two*:

Yonex RQ-Ti Power Long ($50)
110", 27.5", 9.9oz, 4 HH, 16x19, 60 stf, 327 swgwt.

Prince TT Warrior OS ($70)
107", 27.5", 11.2oz, 6 HL, 16x19, 67 stf., 331 swgwt.

All the racquet-buying guides I have found on the net warn about how light, head-heavy, stiff racquets destroy your elbow. So I am a little concerned about the Yonex in that regard. On the other hand, I wonder if the Warrior will be too low-power for me. My swing needs some help.

I played many many years ago, in high school and used a Head Arthur Ashe Competition Edge MP. Of course, it's been so long, I don't even remember what the feel on that racquet was. I am probably a 2.5 player right now at best and was probably never more than a 3.5 in my youthful prime.

Specific questions to answer:
* Which of the two would you recommend?
* Is the Yonex moderate enough to not be considered an elbow-crusher?
* Will the Prince be too advanced for my current level?

(*Considered and discarded: Dunlop 300G, Prince More Response OS, Prince More Power 1150, Prince More Thunder OS, Prince Triple Threat AirLaunch OS, Prince Triple Threat Attitude OS, Prince ThunderCloud Ti, Head i.X5 OS, Wilson Hyper Hammer 5.3 OS, Wilson H5 OS, Wilson H6 OS, Wilson Hyper ProStaff 5.1 Surge, Yonex RQ-Ti Power Standard. Original list compiled from old TT threads).

Thanks in advance.

eLterrible
06-28-2005, 10:39 AM
I've played with the TT, it's a pretty good oversized racquet, probably one of the only OS I'd ever consider using, and has the potential to be a good player's racquet with some customization. I've never played the Yonex, but I'd suggest the Warrior off the bat.

TwistServe
06-28-2005, 10:40 AM