PDA

View Full Version : Help with a Racquet Change - Need More Power and Less Elbow Pain

tsheehan7
06-10-2011, 08:02 AM
I've been using the Head Extreme Pro MP for the last two years, strung at 55 lbs with Prince Premier LT 16 synthetic gut. I'm a 4.0-Low type of player with moderate topsin, slice backhand, and a good kick serve.

Two issues:

Power - I feel as though I'm a pretty strong and in-shape guy, but my groundstrokes would indicate otherwise. I'm sure my technique isn't perfect, but I'm always told I have a great swing. According to TW's calculator, I might be using about the most powerful racquet out there, so I'm wondering where to go from here. I know a good carpenter never blames his tools, but is there another similarly spec'd racquet that might offer more power? I've previously played with a Yonex RQS series racquet which I found far too light and unstable at the net. I'm comfortable with the 100 sq. inch head size, but I suppose I would go a few inches more than that. The 95 sq. inch racquets I've demoed have been way out of my league in the past.

Elbow - I've recently developed terrible tennis elbow. I've been icing and doing some light concentric/eccentric excersies and it's improving, but I'm wondering if my strings or tension setting might have something to do with it.

Some racquets on my demo list are:
Head YOUTEK Prestige Midplus
Yones RDS 003
Wilson KFactor KSurge (a racquet I almost bought two years ago)
Babolate Aeropro Drive GT plus

Any advice would be much appreciated.

ssonosk
06-10-2011, 08:17 AM
it would help if you use a non stiff racquet with a low string tension.

TheOneHander
06-10-2011, 08:23 AM
Elbow - I've recently developed terrible tennis elbow. I've been icing and doing some light concentric/eccentric excersies and it's improving, but I'm wondering if my strings or tension setting might have something to do with it.

Yones RDS 003