PDA

View Full Version : Smaller grip for western / semi-western?

backcourt
07-01-2005, 08:10 AM
I've been hitting semi western forehand for about 3 years and am about to buy a new racquet. The local shop guy told me that alot of player who use a western grip are buying smaller grip sizes. I have been using 5/8 for years, and of course the demo I liked was a 3/8, which was a little small. But I'm wondering if anyone has gone down a grip size because they think they can hit a better western or semi western forehand?

Gaines Hillix
07-01-2005, 08:21 AM
The shop guy is right. Some players who use these grips for topspin are using handle sizes as small as 4 1/4." I believe Carlos Moya is one of them. Some people also believe this can lead to wrist and elbow problems.

johnmcc516
07-01-2005, 09:03 AM
I use an L4 and hit with a semi. Any bigger is uncomfortable.

backcourt
07-01-2005, 02:36 PM
Thanks for your relpies. I'll probably stick with a 5/8, but loose the overgrip.

TennsDog
07-01-2005, 06:21 PM
I hit full western and prefer 4-3/8 without overgrip or 4-1/4 with an overgrip. I have tried replacing the replacement grip on my 4-1/2 grip racket with another overgrip, but it felt to hard, so I added another overgrip (now having 3 total) and that made it almost exactly the same size as it started out.

Felix DeSouza
07-01-2005, 06:54 PM
When I first started playing in mid 80's (~14 yrs old) & thru high school I always
used 5/8 & played classic style. Through the years as I improved, I evolved to
western forehand. Also thru this time I reduced my grip size. At one point last year
I even used 1/4 with 1 overgrip. Great for western FH but not so good (for me) was
other shots. Seemed to settle now on 3/8 with 1 overgrip. If I pick up a 5/8 today
it seems so big. Larger grip size does improve stability for me, better flat serve as
well. Like most things equipment related, you have to find the right personal balance.

AngeloDS
07-01-2005, 07:05 PM