PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a Stringing Machine.

Tennisstarter21
07-11-2011, 07:33 AM
Hey guys, I dont really post around here, but I lurk. I've been playing tennis seriously for about two years (started when I was 15) with the hopes of playing in college. Something I found out is when you play so much is that you need to restring your rackets a lot (I play on average 6-7 hours a day). I finally decided with some recommendations from my friends that I should take the plunge and get a stringing machine.
Im looking for something that's not too expensive (400 bucks or under) and that would be good for a serious player.

Thanks guys.

kchau
07-11-2011, 07:38 AM
gamma x-2, gamma x-6fc

MambaT
07-11-2011, 07:39 AM
Gamma Progression 602 FC is $469 at Amazon. I know it is a little more than $400, but the fixed clamps are worth it. It is a good machine that will serve your needs very well.

Tennisstarter21
07-11-2011, 07:52 AM
Gamma Progression 602 FC is $469 at Amazon. I know it is a little more than $400, but the fixed clamps are worth it. It is a good machine that will serve your needs very well.

What do the clamps do?

MambaT
07-11-2011, 08:05 AM
The clamps hold the tension on the strings you have already threaded while you thread and tension the next. There a fixed clamps, like on this machine, and flying clamps, which do not attach to the machine base.

You can do a fine job with either, but fixed are worth the added cost, IMO. Search for some videos on stringing and you can see the difference.

jim e
07-11-2011, 08:37 AM
Welcome to the forums!!
Go to the section Stringing Techniques / Stringing Machines on this site