PDA

View Full Version : Racket/string for me

Lateralus
07-29-2011, 04:35 PM
Hi. I started playing tennis 10 years ago, but only the last few years have been on a regular basis. As tennis is not very big here (Norway), I have not taken any courses or such and is entirely self taught. I now want to take it to a new level and I am going to take some private lessons. What I would like from is some advice on equipment.

Despite the low level, I am very competative by nature which has its ups and downs. I have gotten better than my friends, but I also destroy a couple of rackets every year. Very childish behaviour in this setting, and I have promised myself to stop. My current racket is a Wilson k-four FX, but I smashed one yesterday and my reserve has some cracks. This is by far my favourite of the 15 or so I have had so far, but the strings on both of them got loose pretty fast which both makes for some total mishits and having to straighten them after every point. My "club" has not gotten a stringer, and I would therefore prefer strings that keeps their tension for a long time.

I think I could best describe my game as very similar to that of Philippe Petzschner. On a completely different level obviously, but I got good pace on serve and forehand, and slice my backhand >90% of the time. I love to come to the net as much as I can, despite my beyond pathetic overhead.

I hope some of you bother to read the long post, as I know there are many knowledgeable people posting here. Money is not the biggest issue, but I would guess things like headsize, weight, balance and strings matters more than having the a top model.

Any advice regarding racket/string combo, in any price range would be much appreciated.

Anton
07-29-2011, 05:31 PM
Honestly at a low level it really doesn't matter what you play with so long as you like the feel. You don't really give much detail about yourself and your game for me to recommend a specific frame.