PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a new racquet

art-of-tennis
07-30-2011, 07:06 PM
Hi guys, I'm new here. I joined to ask what you all thought I should do on my racquet situation. I've been using a head flexpoint radical for 7 1/2 years or so. My biggest reason for hunting down a new stick is more power, but I also would like to have an open string bed for more spin. I love the FP radical serve/volleys, but I feel that my groundies need more pace.

So far I've demoed the Youtek prestidge pro, the pure drive gt, the aero pro drive gt, the pure storm gt, and the youtek extreme MP. Out of them all I've liked the Aero Pro the best; it's helped me hit a bigger serve, and it's helped add some power to my strokes.

I string my FP radicals at 65 btw with FXP something string. What I want to know is if you guys think I should just buy an Aero pro drive gt or if I should work a lot to try to customize my old racquet.

Some info on me:

This will be my 8th year playing, I play high school tennis and club tennis. Not much at all USTA other than leagues. I'd like to play Div II tennis in college (yeah I know I need to play USTA, it's just we can't exactly afford it at the moment...). I play 1 singles varsity for my high school, so I end up playing some of the best kids in Michigan, and I'd really like to start beating them more.

I have a city tournament that I'm playing this Monday/Tuesday, so I need to decide what to do before then. Thanks for any help.

whomad15
07-30-2011, 09:35 PM
lower your string tension to the low 50's. If that doesn't add some power/spin to your game right away, I'll be very surprised.
If you like how the racquet feels why bother looking for a new one, other than fun factor.
Babolats are powerful because they're stiff, be careful as that stiffness can come with the price of arm pain.

vincent_tennis
07-31-2011, 12:12 AM
Try stringing one to mid-high 50s will enlarge the sweet spot and increase the amount of power~