PDA

View Full Version : Fairway Leather Grips

Arthuro
07-31-2011, 08:21 AM
Hello everyone,

I am going to put a Fairway Leather Grip on my Prince Exo3 Rebel, which has been a dream to hit with by the way recently.

This is my first time putting on a leather grips without adhesive tape behind it. The USRSA manual says us a staple, but is this really necessary with double sided tape? Additionally, I wanted to know if I should put the double sided tape on the racquet or on the underside of the leather grip.

mad dog1
07-31-2011, 08:33 AM
i can't get double sided tape to hold securely enough at the butt cap when i'm pulling hard to start the first wrap so i use a staple. but i recall others have mentioned being able to just use double sided tape.

Marcus
07-31-2011, 08:40 AM
Absolutely got to use a staple to get a nice line around the but cap, another tip is to use a hair dryer to heat the grip up as you wrap it, you'll need someone to help you with this....

mad dog1
07-31-2011, 08:44 AM
^^ never thought of this, but it completely makes sense though. the heated grip will stretch easier. after it's installed and cools, it'll contract tightly around the handle. cool tip!

Dags
07-31-2011, 08:49 AM
I've never used a staple with mine. I put a strip of double-sided tape down the widest parts of the pallet (top and bottom if you were to lay the racquet flat), and then another strip around the butt cap. I usually cut the piece for the butt cap in two as it helps prevent wrinkles.

Gee
07-31-2011, 09:13 AM
Hello everyone,

I am going to put a Fairway Leather Grip on my Prince Exo3 Rebel, which has been a dream to hit with by the way recently.

This is my first time putting on a leather grips without adhesive tape behind it. The USRSA manual says us a staple, but is this really necessary with double sided tape? Additionally, I wanted to know if I should put the double sided tape on the racquet or on the underside of the leather grip.