PDA

View Full Version : Help me find my new racquet

FriarTuck
08-01-2011, 01:09 AM
So I'm in the market for a new racquet. I'm a 29 year old guy and I started playing tennis about 5 years ago with no lessons and started playing 3.0-3.5 league play last year. I use a semi-western grip and have a decent forehand, a boring slice backhand and a horribly inconsistent serve.

I currently use an oversized Wilson nCode nFury with RPM Blast but I feel like it is too much and too light of a racquet for me. I swing pretty hard even when I go easy so I'm looking for more control.

I've recently hit the following demos:

6.1 BLX Tour
6.1 BLX 95
Babolat Aero Pro Drive
Babolat Pure Drive Roddick
Head Youtek IG Speed 18x20
Head Youtek IG Speed 300 (16x19 lighter version)

Of all these, I liked the Head Youtek IG Speed 18x20 the best and the 6.1 BLX 95 (16x19) second best.

My goals are to be much more consistent, incorporate more topspin in my strokes and develop a consistent serve. Of course, improving my technique will make the biggest difference, but I want a racquet that will give me confidence to really go after my shots.

So, what other racquets out there should I be looking at? I don't know that much about the smaller manufacturers or even about the other Head racquet. I've always been partial to Wilson mainly because I'm a Fed fan.

Thanks!

Fed Kennedy
08-01-2011, 01:51 AM
If you liked the speed and the 6.1 the best, I would look at the storm line from babolat, pure storm and aero storm. They both come in lightweight and tour versions.

FriarTuck
08-01-2011, 07:44 PM
Thanks for the response. I'll have to put that on my demo list.

How about any of the other Head racquets like the radical or prestige? Seems like a lot of pros use these. Also are any Prince racquets worth a demo?

I hit the Wilson BLX 6.1 95 today and I really like the weight and feel of the racquet when I strike it well.

Thanks!

subra
08-03-2011, 05:30 AM