PDA

View Full Version : Removing and Re-Installing Grommets, etc.

TimothyO
08-03-2011, 02:43 PM
I might (that's MIGHT) want to paint a racquet. I've resaerched the process and having lots of experience with spray painting projects I'm confident I can handle the stripping and painting phase.

What I'm not sure about is removing and then re-installing the grommets and bumper guard. The frame is the Head MG Radical OS. Is it easy to remove and re-install these parts or should I have an MRT do it for me? I have over 20 years of experience building models and similar "small tool work/precision" projects involving plastic and metal work. I have no fear of patiently performing detailed work. But I'm not arrogant enough to think I can jump into a project like this without the advice of more experienced folks.

Can I do this myself or is there a high chance of damaging the parts?

dadozen
08-03-2011, 02:47 PM
Tim, I honestly think that sanding/painting the racquet is much harder than the work needed to remove/reinstall the grommets.

Removing the grommets is much easier than reinstalling it, so if you feel you won't be able to do it, you can simply get a new grommet set and take the racquet to a experienced person

TimothyO
08-03-2011, 03:03 PM
Thanks! I should have also mentioned the frame has never been strung. It's on a truck or plane and heading here from TW! So flaring won't be an issue when re-installing.

My ankle is injured and our courts are being resurfaced. I suppose a worst case scenario is I give it a try and if I break something order replacements.

There's a helpful YouTube video on the topic and it looks easy. But sometimes looks can be deceiving!

RyKnocks
08-03-2011, 03:18 PM