PDA

View Full Version : Got Leather?

Faithfulfather
08-03-2011, 04:22 PM
Who uses just leather without an overgrip? Benefits/Drawbacks?

PBODY99
08-03-2011, 05:09 PM
I do and one other player I string for. My hands do not sweat, and we both started playing when Leather was all there was, except for gauze over wrap.
For me< i like the feel don't have any drawbacks. Your experience will vary.

TiberiusGracchus
08-03-2011, 05:35 PM
I have since about a month after I started playing tennis.

My hands don't sweat though, so slippage is not a problem. I've found that no matter what overgrip I use (Supergrap, Tourna, Wilson Pro), my hand slips all over the place on them. Not with leather though! I've got some awesome tennis callus' that keep my grip firm and in place now...I think my right hand may be turning to leather?

I use TW's widest wrap and thinnest thickness leather grip, FYI.

Winners or Errors
08-03-2011, 05:50 PM
I like leather, but if you don't want the balance of your racquet changed, you'll need to get out the lead tape. It adds a little bit of weight.

Doesn't bother my hands, gets a little tacky with sweat. Of course, YMMV, as I play in a very dry climate.

joe sch
08-03-2011, 05:51 PM

I prefer the leather grip unless its too hot and hand/arm sweat make gripping the leather to slippery. It takes time to develop tougher skin, ie some callous, so the leather does not cause blistering. The grip and feel of natural leather can not be surpassed !

Faithfulfather
08-03-2011, 05:53 PM
I have the TW 22mm X 1300mm X 1.3mm.

thebeast73
08-03-2011, 05:54 PM
I like the feel of leather it's not mushy

Kemitak
08-03-2011, 06:04 PM
I do! Gives me man-calluses, and crisps up the racquet.

nguyendat9
08-03-2011, 06:07 PM
My hand don't sweat a lot, so leather grip work for me. I just started using just leather grip with no overgrip. I really like the feel of it.

Fuji
08-03-2011, 08:34 PM