PDA

View Full Version : Anybody hit the Bab PD OS yet?

rooski
04-26-2004, 02:59 PM
I searched the boards and didn't find any significant mentions of this racket? I picked it up in a pro shop today and it felt good. Nice heft. Anybody have any comments on how it hits/plays?

I'll probably take it out next weekend for a hit myself.

tnsdoc
04-26-2004, 04:19 PM
I've been using the Babolat PD OS for 2 months now and really like it. Playing men's 4.5 USTA but I've hit 50 recently and like the extra pop that I get with this from my previous TT Warrior. It has a very nice swingweight which translates to great stability off the ground and on volleys; the sweet spot is enormous, and the 16x20 pattern allows for some great slice that really sticks. Touch shots are surprisingly and have had no arm problems whatsoever. Mine is slightly customized to 10.8 oz., and as long as you prepare, there is no problem getting the racquet around. It is very tension sensitive, so it may take 2-3 stringings until you find your ideal combination. Yeah, it ain't no "players" racquet, but it works great for me; you might be surprised, IMO.

rooski
04-26-2004, 04:25 PM
Thanks for the reply. What tension and string did you end up with?

orange223
04-27-2004, 08:53 AM
I bought a pair (thank you TW!) and use VS Touch 16, stringing it myself at 57lbs. I have close to 12 hours playing time on one gut job and still counting. The sweet spot is just beginning to fray. I added 3 grams each @ 9 and 3 with more lead in the handle (a pair of .54 caliber muzzleloading roundballs @ 240 grains each - I haven't calculated grains in bulletweight to grams). Still haven't weighed it on a digital scale though.