PDA

View Full Version : 8 year old racket, should I upgrade?

Govnor
08-16-2011, 08:48 AM
First thread for me! Have gotten the tennis bug again in the last couple of months after a lay off of several years.

I'm somewhere between a 3.5-4.0 and play with a Wilson Hammer 6 (Serena used it, black/white). I bought it probably in 2003.

I'm wondering if a new racket is worth looking into in terms of the progression of technology. I'm OK with the Hammer 6, but if a new racket added something that it cannot, then it's something I would consider. I have no experience with any other racket in recent years though, so just looking for thoughts on if a new racket would likely add something extra to my game?

Thanks!

big bang
08-16-2011, 12:27 PM
Forget about technology its just sales gimmicks and nothing else!

Say Chi Sin Lo
08-16-2011, 12:37 PM
No? Do you know how many people play with 10-20years old frames and live by them?

VGP
08-16-2011, 03:10 PM
If you like your Hammer 6 and it's in good playable shape, invest in some good instruction from a qualified teaching professional.

I'll take a lesson and really pay attention to what works and what doesn't work. Getting the feel of adjusted stroke mechanics. I've benefited from lessons far more than any racket change could make.

BTW, the racket I use is going on 27 years old.

tampa_edski
08-16-2011, 03:36 PM
If you like it, use it. I use a 20+ year old Prince often (30% of the time or so)...

When I got back into playing a few years ago I kept gravitating to the Prince, and demo'd several sticks. Take your time is my advice.

SteveI
08-16-2011, 05:15 PM