PDA

View Full Version : correct fit including asics gel resolution 3

EKnee08
09-15-2011, 12:32 PM
Hi All:

For the past several months I have been having, what do you call it- toe burn where it sometimes hurts when i walk flexing my toe.

I spoke with a friend of mine who is a podiatrist and he asked to see my tennis shoes and cross-trainers.

I have been wearing ascis gel resolution 2 for almost 2 years and when the last pair needs to be replaced I was moving on to the Res 3.

My friend upon examiinaion of my feet and my Res 2 shoes stated that I needed anywhere between 1/2 to 1 size larger to give me more room in the front of the shoe, toebox and to then lock the laces in.

I bought a half size larger in res 3 because the shoe salesman said I would have too much room if I went a full size lalrger than my foot.

I then tried the new shoes on for my friend-podiatrist and he advised to go up to a full size larger and to "lock the laces in"

On my podiatrist-friend's recommendation, I exchanged the sneaker for a pair that was a full-size larger than what I had been wearing.

I brought the new pair to a running store to add superfeet orange. The salesman there confirmed what my friend said.

Do you agree on this?

Ramon
09-15-2011, 05:07 PM
It's tough to say without looking at your feet and shoes, but it sounds like you have confirmation from 2 professionals that the full size larger is appropriate, so I won't second guess them. I suspect your foot probably slides inside the shoe, which is why your toes hurt, and I suppose that if you go high enough in size, you'll eventually get to where the sliding stops short of the tip of the shoe. The Superfeet Orange will probably help because it will make the shoe tighter, and you'll have less sliding. With my narrow foot, I usually add insoles to help with fit because it minimizes the sliding. You might also try wearing 2 socks to see if the sliding goes down.

Kevo
09-19-2011, 06:54 AM