PDA

View Full Version : Going to start playing tennis and need good shoes. Cheap or designer?

Homeboy Hotel
09-16-2011, 08:23 AM
Basically I'm going to start playing tennis, I've got some basic Nike shirt/shorts but shoes I have not bought yet.

I'm not sure if I should go and pay for some big brand shoes or just go for the basic shoes. The latter would seem a no-brainer since I'm a beginner but considering i'm going to be running around a lot, have wide feet, want them to last etc, I thought I'd ask on here first. Don't wanna buy a cheap pair only to get destroyed after a couple of weeks on the court.

I want something that is quite comfortable (obviously) - any suggestions on specific shoes or brands that you guys use, on a reasonably budget?

Hapless
09-16-2011, 11:34 AM
You need dedicated court shoes with rubber (rather than gum) soles; this is key because a lot of indoor court shoes (for squash/racquetball) have gum on the soles and they'll last you not much longer than a week.

Other than that, it's all about fit, weight, comfort, etc. There are expensive shoes that won't last you more than a month, and there are dirt cheap shoes that are highly durable.

Asics makes some of the best all-around court shoes, and you'll rarely find negative comments about them. New Balance are popular as well, especially if you have wide feel. Babolat, Wilson and Nike are all hit-or-miss.

luishcorreia
09-17-2011, 05:14 AM
Nike City Court. Cheap and good for a starting player.

TopFH
09-17-2011, 09:48 AM
Adidas Bercuda. A really good hand-me-down version of the B6s. It did not last me much, but I've been playing for two and half years now!

Ramon
09-17-2011, 12:23 PM
I tried the Nike Air Court MO's (similar to Nike City Courts), and they were good for what little I paid after the store discount (probably under $40 since they were on clearance). I also like the look of the Adidas Bercudas.