PDA

View Full Version : New guy with a video

q4short
09-29-2011, 01:29 PM
Hello everyone, I'm Q. I started playing almost 6 years ago and have never been coached. If you take a look at my video, I'd appreciate any thoughts, advice, etc.. thanks

the first half are groundstrokes, the second is serving
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgenuueC2T8

LeeD
09-29-2011, 01:34 PM
Very good wall hitting, better than most.
Would be nice to see vids of you hitting with a partner.
Walls tend to make people a little lazy with footwork and shoulder turn.
Where in Cal are you?
I'm in SanPablo, Ca.

q4short
09-29-2011, 01:55 PM
thanks LeeD. I'm in the valley; Stockton, CA. I'll consider making a video playing with my buddies...

rufusbgood
09-29-2011, 04:56 PM
Really nice. Only suggestion I feel qualified to make is to see if you can't begin your service motion without the racquet waving. It may have helped you early on to relax and be rhythmic but now it is actually incongruous with the rest of your motion. See if you can't just start from a complete standstill. This way you are beginning your motion with a certainty of how your racquet and the ball are oriented to one another. As your hands part and take their separate paths, having had them start out together helps with re-orienting them when they reunite at the point of contact.

http://www.ontennis.com/files/image/tennis-rules/tennis-serve(1).jpg

Kenny022593
09-29-2011, 05:10 PM
I feel like you arm your backhand a lot too. It looks like how mine did when I posted my video of hitting against a wall. Just try to add more hips?

q4short
09-29-2011, 07:01 PM
@rufus: thank you, I didn't notice that. You're right, flopping it around before I serve looks sloppy and who knows how much this will help. Will make the effort!