PDA

View Full Version : moved from 3.5 to 4.0 Advice please

Lawn Tennis
09-29-2011, 06:58 PM
I graduated to the 4.0 rank for performing well enough at the 3.5 rank last season. My first 4.0 league match is Saturday morning. Naturally I have some anxiety. I have some experience playing 4.5+ players; I know how big, deep, and consistent they can hit, and surely a 4.0 player having a good day could perform the same.

My strategy proved solid against 3.5 players. I was always working on something, and then recording in words how it went. The next day I would imagine what I could have done better (mental and/or physical) and tried it usually with some significant success.

Would anybody here care to give their thoughts on what I could do to maximize performance and ensure a smooth transition to the 4.0 rank? I am not expecting to make it to the playoffs nor even necessarily to win a match. I'm mostly looking to find a way to take the challenge in strides.

LeeD
09-29-2011, 07:00 PM
You cannot affect how your opposition plays. You can only hit your best shots and the smartest time, and hope his reply is something you can eat up.
So concentrate within. Play YOUR best game, and let the dice roll the way they roll.

Nellie
09-30-2011, 07:15 AM
While the ball may be faster, I think the biggest difference is to expect balls to come back - you are going to get a lot less free points because the opponent with hit more service returns and less errors.

olliess
09-30-2011, 11:04 AM
Maybe it would help to hear your own assessment of how were you winning at 3.5. What were your competitive advantages (and relative weaknesses) at 3.5 and how do you see those translating to the next level?

pheonix6579
09-30-2011, 04:31 PM
You cannot affect how your opposition plays. You can only hit your best shots and the smartest time, and hope his reply is something you can eat up.
So concentrate within. Play YOUR best game, and let the dice roll the way they roll.