PDA

View Full Version : should i go with full gut or gut/syn gut hybrid?

DX_Psycho
07-11-2005, 12:09 AM
i am using a prestige classic mid. i'm not a string breaker AT ALL. i've been using duraflex 17 for about 4 or 5 months and htey just started peeling.

i usually string at middle tension.

i want to try gut for once (especially since i play a lot in the summer)

about how long does it take before babolat gut loses its tension?

should i go with full gut or hybrid it with the duraflex 18 that i have right now?

thanks.

TennisPlayer11
07-11-2005, 12:11 AM
i would reccomend babolat gut.....depending on how much u want to spend.....$35 for VS natural or $25 for tonic+

jayserinos99
07-11-2005, 12:18 AM
If I were in that situation, I'd end up with a gut/syn gut hybrid. Gut tends to keep its tension for a while and since I'd have more than one racquet, I'd be better off having the same hybrid in both frames. Syn gut 18 is what puzzles me though; do you have any other strings besides that? I'm just concerned about having such a thin string as a cross even though technically the mains saw faster than the crosses. Any other string gurus can help with this?

theace21
07-11-2005, 08:34 AM
Gut usually holds its tension very well. I use BDE Preformance in the mains, and Gosen Sheep Micro 17 in the crosses.

I agree with Jay, why use an 18 gauge cross. If the cross does snap you are out luck and gut is still very expensive...I use the 17, and have not broken a cross before a main, don't think the benifit of 18 vs 17 justifies the potenial lost if the thinner cross breaks...

NoBadMojo
07-11-2005, 09:21 AM