PDA

View Full Version : Which pro/s got you into the game?

GotGame?
07-11-2005, 03:47 PM
Which pro/s got you into this game of tennis? What made you fall in love with tennis?

For me, it had to be Sampras and Agassi. Their rivalry lighted up the scene when I first saw tennis, and their playing styles contrast so much. They turned out to be legends in their own ways. From then until even now, I look to achieve their greatness some day.

Seles influenced me a bit I guess also, but that really came through my dad being a fan of her.

Rickson
07-11-2005, 03:49 PM
Andy Roddick with his monster serve.

AngeloDS
07-11-2005, 03:57 PM
Oddly, in middle school I really liked Badminton. Friends and I would stay after school to play it in the gym. I was a pro-badminton person. Then, I found the sport of Tennis when my friends dad let us borrow some racquets.

There's a few tennis courts where I live. At the Navy Base, down the street from where I live and the High School Tennis Courts.

But when I first started watching. It was Pete Sampras and Agassi.

Max G.
07-11-2005, 04:08 PM
I saw a couple of matches involving don't-remember-who baseliners. Then I saw Sampras serve and volley and was hooked.

junglebrothers66
07-11-2005, 04:09 PM
2 words for you GORAN WIMBLEDON 2001

BEST TOURNMENT EVER
HE CAME FROM NO WHERE TO BEAT jonsson , moya , roddick , rusedski, safin , henman , rafter,after the final i bought my first racquet and never looked back,,,,,,,

Babblelot
07-11-2005, 04:15 PM
Wow, I'm a geezer!

First and always: Johnny Mac--no one before or since could touch his combination dominant player and outrageous antics.

Sure, Nastase was out there, but he's no Johnny Mac--one of a kind (period)

Unlike the dignified and respectful Agassi-Sampras rivalry, there was no love lost between McEnroe-Connors early in his career and McEnroe-Lendl at the end of his career. And imagine, McEnroe-Borg was sandwiched in between!

GotGame?
07-11-2005, 04:16 PM