PDA

View Full Version : Strung a racket for a friend,charge him or not?

Ballinbob
11-06-2011, 11:15 AM
Here is my situation:

I'm not a pro stringer by any means, and i dont have that much experience. I can string my own racket just fine, but dont have any experience with other rackets like I said.

Long story short, I strung my friends racket badly and I feel bad about it. The racket will still play fine and everything I'm sure, but I think I skipped the wrong holes or something and you can definitely tell its not done 100% correctly.

The strings were $15, and I really dont want to charge my friend for a bad string job. I should never have agreed to string his racket in the first place. My dad on the other hand says give him the racket and see what my friend says. He wants me to charge him.

What is the right thing to do? I made a mistake and dont want to lose the guy as a friend, and the racket is playable.

Help ?:?

Fearsome Forehand
11-06-2011, 11:48 AM
If you messed up the string job, it is a freebie unless he absolutely insists on paying you something out of pity.

If you don't know how to string that well, don't take stringing jobs for pay. Learn on your own rackets first, get really good at those, and then you should be okay to string for others. Pay attention to the details and constantly check for misweaves. Make sure you are aware of the skipped holes, the tie offs, etc.

Typically, a misweave is a freebie. If you took your racket into a stringer and he screwed it up, I doubt you would say okay fine, I'll pay you anyway. You would say re-string it the right way or I'm not paying you for it. Same rules apply when you screw up.

Even the best stringers screw one up now and then. They then proceed to cut the new strings out and restring the racket the correct way. The customer usually never knows about the problem because most for pay stringers don't want to advertise that they screwed up.

scotus
11-06-2011, 11:50 AM