PDA

View Full Version : Legal?


jaybear1909
11-17-2011, 08:08 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5H7JG71Eb0&feature=related

Skip to about 20 seconds to get a better angle. He's reaching over majorly, I always thought this was illegal?

SFrazeur
11-17-2011, 08:18 PM
It's legal. Here's why. . . .

The ball had bounced on Hewitt's side but was arching back over across the net to Federer's side. For Hewitt to win the point he had to reach over the net to play the ball. This is the one exception to the rule of not being able to reach over the net to play the ball.

-SF

rdis10093
11-17-2011, 08:26 PM
hewitt is the best

SFrazeur
11-17-2011, 08:30 PM
hewitt is the best

Good? Yes. The best? no. . .

-SF

Agent Orynge
11-17-2011, 09:05 PM
Good? Yes. The best? no. . .

-SF

He didn't explicitly say what Hewitt is 'the best' at, but it's clear he meant reaching over the net...

Speaking of Hewitt, where on earth is my buddy Timbo?

jaybear1909
11-18-2011, 05:25 AM
It's legal. Here's why. . . .

The ball had bounced on Hewitt's side but was arching back over across the net to Federer's side. For Hewitt to win the point he had to reach over the net to play the ball. This is the one exception to the rule of not being able to reach over the net to play the ball.

-SF

I guess I totally missed the bouncing on his side first part. I thought he just reached over to get the slam earlier. :shock: