PDA

View Full Version : Rained out final - do the finalists get credited with a win or runnerup?


timnz
12-14-2011, 02:25 PM
I was looking on Wikipedia (yes, I know it can be unreliable) at Jimmy Connors entry and Vilas' entry. The 1981 Monte Carlo final was rained out. Jimmy Connors entry had that listed as a win under 'Grand Prix Championship Series finals', whereas Vilas doesn't list this as a win.

What is the official rules in terms of title recognition. If a player reaches the final and the final is called off due to conditions - are both players credited with a win or both credited with runner-up. The obvious and sensible thing would be the latter - however, what is the official position?

I can also think of Lendl and McEnroe in 1987 being halfway through a called off final.

Mustard
12-14-2011, 03:04 PM
No winner and no champion were the rules then. I think they are still the rules, unless there's indoor courts like they used in Nottingham in the past.

Sentinel
12-14-2011, 08:34 PM
I thought the defending champion was given the title. ????

jokinla
12-14-2011, 09:06 PM
Since it was Monte Carlo, by default it went to Rafa.

MG1
12-15-2011, 01:07 AM
Check on ATP site !!