PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Start Tennis Later in Life? *TL;DR*

Kurte954
12-27-2011, 05:01 PM
Has anyone out there picked up tennis after 30 having never played sports before? I need to hear a success story from someone out there.

I never played sports as a kid. Never took up anything until tennis at 33 years old. I've been playing for 4 years now and must admit - I'm a little frustrated. I played 3 seasons of a local flex league at the 3.0 level, with my 3rd season going 6-1 in the round robin and 2-1 in the playoffs (had a bad day and lost in the semis to a guy I beat in the RR). I moved up to 3.5 for 2 seasons and won a grand total of 2 out of 14 RR matches. I'm dropping back down to 3.0 for the upcoming winter season because after losing a couple games I give in to the other player being better. I don't quit, but I don't believe in myself or try as hard. I know I need to be in better shape - I'm losing weight and increasing my fitness. I have awesome strokes in practice - I can hit a 90+ mph flat serve, slice serve, kick serve, with decent placement. I'm told I have excellent form for someone who has played for four years.

This morning I took a video of some match play and really saw my weaknesses. ALL my body motions are slow - it's like I am perpetually stuck in slow motion. Even when I hit a serve near 90 mph I'm moving slow - it's just that I've got a good motion that I can generate that pace. Also, I feel my read and react-to-the-ball time is very slow. But a lot of the time I am standing still for too long after my opponent has hit the ball. I attribute this to the fact that I started sports so late and never developed the "GO-GET-IT" part of my brain. My goal is to be a 4.0 player someday and this past year has left me thinking that ship has sailed. Anyone out there start late and have success???

NE1for10is?
12-27-2011, 05:44 PM