PDA

View Full Version : 2nd serve problem

greystar403
12-29-2011, 08:07 PM
My topspin serve is LITERALLY diving into the net.

It starts off with a very high arc when it comes off my racquet. Then it turns kamakaze on me and takes a nose dive.

Checked my toss. Over my head.

Checked my contact point. Slightly, but not excessively, lower than my first serve.

Checked my racquet head speed. Swinging through as fast as I can.

Ive been playing for 2 and a half years self taught, On my highschool varsity team, so I have no idea whats wrong at this point.

HELP?

If critisizm requires a video, Ill try to get a video as soon as I can.

greystar403
12-29-2011, 08:09 PM
My topspin serve is LITERALLY diving into the net.

It starts off with a very high arc when it comes off my racquet. Then it turns kamakaze on me and takes a nose dive.

Checked my toss. Over my head.

Checked my contact point. Slightly, but not excessively, lower than my first serve.

Checked my racquet head speed. Swinging through as fast as I can.

Ive been playing for 2 and a half years self taught, On my highschool varsity team, so I have no idea whats wrong at this point.

HELP?

If critisizm requires a video, Ill try to get a video as soon as I can.

...and ive only had 4 days on coaching (1 hour each, with a groups so i dont get looked at that much)

monomer
12-29-2011, 08:20 PM
One thing that I do when this happens is to move my grip from continental very slightly over toward eastern. Just enough to give a little more depth. Can't say much without seeing a video.

scotus
12-29-2011, 08:23 PM
A nose dive is very good. It means it has a lot of topspin.

You just need to make sure that you hit it up much higher. Exaggerate it so that ball clears the net by about 10 feet.

After a while, I think you will get the hang of it.

papa
12-30-2011, 04:28 AM