PDA

View Full Version : Floating backhand slice

goeblack
12-30-2011, 05:52 AM
My backhand slice is more often than not a reliable shot. BUT, on occasion I will float the slice way too high. Even though it usually land in the court, I am a sitting duck. I really would like some advice as to what I am doing wrong when this happens.(yes I know my racket angle is too open).

Thanks

goe

SeriousSummer
12-30-2011, 08:54 AM
Dang! I thought someone wanted instruction on how to hit a floating backhand slice.

That's one of the only areas of tennis I'm an expert on and qualified to give advice.

greystar403
12-30-2011, 09:00 AM
Transfer your weight forward as well.

Other than the open racquet face, you should see some improvement.

rkelley
12-30-2011, 09:08 AM
Hard to say without seeing it, but fundamentally if your slice is high over the net but still landing in the court, then you're not hitting it hard enough and the racquet face is too open. A high slice should go long, not land in.

Make sure you set the racquet angle early in the forward stroke and then maintain that angle through the contact zone.

Here's a youtube link that was really helpful for me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=II7Wo0y6fC8

blip
12-30-2011, 09:09 AM
Like stated above step in and close the face more. It's easier to hit a good low slice when someone is hitting shots to you with some pace. If not then its all up to you to generate the pace by stepping in and hitting the slice.

Ducker
12-30-2011, 09:24 AM
blip is right. if your playing with low level players and they are giving you slow balls ur slice is going to be alot weaker than if your playing high level player that just hit a hard ball low to your backhand.

Slice is all about stealing your opponents pace.

Bagumbawalla
12-30-2011, 01:44 PM
Even though the slice is a "downward" stroke, it must also travel forward-- through the ball- especially when you must create your own pace.