PDA

View Full Version : Having problems on my Forehand, Any Tips? Video included

TTech321
01-08-2012, 12:38 AM
Hi guys, I've been playing tennis off and on for about 8 years now, I think I started when I was 19. Watched some Prince of Tennis and decided to go wack some tennis balls. I got my brother to join me since he was a little fat and needed the exercise. Our first rackets were $20 for 2 starters made of aluminum? LOL

Anyways to the point, I've been having LOTS of problems on my Forehand side since switching to the BLX 90 from my Ncode 90. Before I would have rated myself a decent 3.5 but now with the way I'm hitting I would say I'm a low 3.0.

I just can't hit the ball right, most my shots are off center now and I tend to frame the racket at the bottom of the frame. I can see from the ball fuzz and the wear on the strings that I'm hitting it all over the place.

I've been getting very frustrated lately, and have even considered looking for a pro to help me, but paying 80/hour is too much... and most instructors around here are actually my friends from high school....

I never had formal lessons and I started tennis really late, but I learned from watching tennis on TV so I know my form is bad.

But if you can watch my video and give me some tips on how to fix my forehand I will be very grateful.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHV6XZpNf9w

maxpotapov
01-08-2012, 01:06 AM
Your stance is not very athletic, your back is totally flat
This creates a lot of problems in terms of balance etc. as your upper and lower body act as one unit/column
Try to break them in two by flexing lower back, this will push your butt back and pull your shoulder line forward
And see what happens, if you like it - make another video
Here's the extreme case of athletic stance (which I would call sumo wrestler stance) to exercise:
http://youtu.be/B_MFKqF84iI

aceX
01-08-2012, 01:08 AM