PDA

View Full Version : Why Do Lighter Sticks Cause Elbow/Shoulder Pain?

winstonplum
01-12-2012, 10:33 PM
I've been using the Prestige Mid (Microgel) on and off for about two years. It's fine. Whatever. But it seems like every time I try a lighter stick, I notice some twinging in my shoulder rather quickly. I actually bought a APDGT about a year ago because I loved the spin I could get while I demoed it and had to sell it after four months. I even strung it with 17 gauge RPM Blast at the very bottom of the tension rec; didn't help (multis or syns are not an option for breaking/financial reasons). Today, I was demoing a prestige mp (you-tek), and holy smokes, the thing is only about a half ounce lighter than the mid, but there again, I noticed some shoulder/elbow discomfort. I've read a lot of good things about the Pure Storm GT and would like to demo it, but it being a hole ounce lighter than the prestige mid I use, I can already see where this is going. Why is this? Is it because you swing harder with the lighter racquet thus creating more vibration? Clue me in. It seems counter-intuitive, like the heavier racquet would cause more arm problems, but that's never been the case for me.

Readers
01-12-2012, 10:44 PM
Lighter is better for shoulder, I can't imaging practice serve with a 14 oz stick. But you don't want it too light, like a 8 oz, because it's bad for your elbow and wrist.

IMHO the best stick for your healthy is a soft stick that's nether too light nor too heavy. I'd say a sticky in 10.5-12.5 oz range won't be too bad for any part of your body, and stiffness is more important than weight.

Edit: Please make more paragraph, I misread it due to wall of text.

APDGT with RPM is super stiff, which could be the root of problem, also weight might not be the only difference between the new and old version. Maybe the new one is stiffer? I don't know much about new head frames.

KenC
01-13-2012, 12:20 AM