PDA

View Full Version : How much overhang of the handle with various grips

Eph
01-20-2012, 06:34 PM
Hi, I keep getting a blister on my hand and I want to know if it could be because I have considerable overhang from where I hold my racquet in my hand. I don't know if the fact that I haven't played in awhile is causing the blister, but the blister occurs exactly where the racquet handle "rotates" during the swing.

I just started playing again after a year due to ankle surgery, so I forgot my bad habit of hitting flat, and usually long, forehands (using an eastern grip). Now I am swinging up and through the ball, creating lots of spin and for the first time since I started playing tennis a few years ago, I can have rallies!

I want to make sure I am holding the racquet properly for the semi-western forehand grip so I don't create new bad muscle memory.

Can you please make a suggestion for how to hold the racquet's handle while hitting a forehand with the semi-western grip?

Thank you!

Here is the way I am currently holding the handle. As you can see, my hand hangs off the handle considerably. (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8494936/Tennis/current.jpg)

Here's the blister (it didn't break last night but if I continued playing, it would have ripped open. Red dots circle around the blister. This blister forms in exactly the spot where the handle rotates when swinging through with the semi-western forehand grip. (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8494936/Tennis/blister.jpg)

Is this the proper way to hold it, with the butt of the handle holding the palm of my hand, and the palm of my hand not passing the butt of the handle? This way I assume won't cause a blister as when I tried this it didn't hurt the blister that was forming, but it doesn't feel as natural as my hand in the first picture. (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8494936/Tennis/proper.jpg)

Can someone help me figure this out? Thanks!

LeeD
01-20-2012, 06:38 PM
Everything you mentioned contributed to the blister.