PDA

View Full Version : How do you think of Head TI S1 as a beginner's racquet?

aerivus
01-22-2012, 12:15 PM
So my friend decided that he will start playing tennis for this upcoming seasons.
Obviously, he needs his own racquet to play tennis, so he naturally asked me for an advice (who is rather experienced).
At the time, I had one unused racquet (Babolat Aero strike (aero pro drive's take down version) which happened to be the racquet i used when I was a beginner, so I offered him that I would let him use for a season.

Well he did not listen and went ahead to buy himself a Head Ti S1 at dick's sporting goods. I feel like buying anything related to tennis at dick's sporting goods is just a bad choice... in both price wise and quality wise.

I'd like to make him return and just use my Babolat, or even take him to a legit retailer to buy him a good racquet at almost the same price. But if the TiS1 is actually a good racquet for a beginner, I won't go as far as forcing him to do so.
So does anybody know how this racquet is?

LeeD
01-22-2012, 12:50 PM
I think I just left mine in PuertoRico last week. Is it the gray one with silver writing and some red graphics? Like 98 sizing (Head's 98 is like most other companies 95's).
Light, with a medium flex throat and soft head? Maybe mid 10 oz.?
Just fine if the incoming ball is not too hard, great for spin. Kinda weak on serves (for 4.0 levels), but nice control on groundies and long dwell time for volleys.

aerivus
01-22-2012, 12:57 PM
No, I think you are thinking of a completely different racquet. Even though I'm not yet to see his racquet, from what I've heard of it and considering its from a big box store, its more likely an oversized frame of 8~ oz. Possibly drastically head heavy..

LeeD
01-22-2012, 01:09 PM
Sorry to waste your time.
I'm pretty sure mine was a Head Ti SI, like 99% sure.
Yours might be one also, or another stick.

flair
01-22-2012, 06:43 PM