PDA

View Full Version : Clay Court, benefits?

Will Chao
01-28-2012, 05:18 PM
I just moved to Australia and there seems to be only clay courts in my region, I'm a beginner and so far I've only played for a month on hard courts and I feel like I can do some decent strokes, but after trying out on clay I'm starting to lose confidence as I find it hard to predict the bounce and such because it is so different.

The question is, are there any benefits on training on clay? As apposed to training on hard (which is quite rare in Melbourne and the only club is extremely expensive). My situation limits myself to clay but I don't particularly enjoy playing on it, I'd still like to play on hard in the future but would doing the training on clay help?

mikeler
01-28-2012, 05:35 PM
You are in an ideal situation. Clay is the best surface to learn tennis on.

papa
01-28-2012, 05:47 PM
Well, I play, teach & coach on both. Most clay courts really aren't clay but are really crushed stone/brick. In the US Har Tru is a very common term for clay courts - actually that's the company name that supplied the materials -- top and base. Generally greeniah in color and the consistency of the grist material found on asphalt shingles but a little smaller (finer ground).

These play slower than hard surfaces but are much easier on your feet. Bounce is higher also and it takes a little time to adjust but you'll learn to like them.

Will Chao
01-28-2012, 05:53 PM
Well, I play, teach & coach on both. Most clay courts really aren't clay but are really crushed stone/brick. In the US Har Tru is a very common term for clay courts - actually that's the company name that supplied the materials -- top and base. Generally greeniah in color and the consistency of the grist material found on asphalt shingles but a little smaller (finer ground).

These play slower than hard surfaces but are much easier on your feet. Bounce is higher also and it takes a little time to adjust but you'll learn to like them.