PDA

View Full Version : Proud owner of a new used Babolat Star 5 stringer

Litespeeds
02-01-2012, 08:47 PM
I have been stringing for over 3 1/2 years and when I decided to purchase a stringer, I bought a used Gamma 6500 ELS. I felt if I was going to string, I might as well buy something that was dependable and with electronic constant pull with fixed clamps.

I have been very happy with the Gamma 6500 but saw an almost new Babolat Star 5 for sale on Craigslist. It was originally purchased in April 2010 so it still has some warranty left. Only strung about 260 racquets before I bought it for $2,200. I hope I got a good deal.

I checked the tension with my Gamma tension calibrater and it was spot on. Very smooth and easy to use. Actually easier to string than my Gamma. The only thing I wish it had was the string length counter so I can be accurate with how much string to use from a reel to reduce waste. Now I have to measure it by hand. Also there is no place on the stand that holds reels of strings.

Decided to check my Gamma again to see what tension it was actually pulling since I checked over a year ago and to my surprise, it was pulling about 2-3 lbs lower than actual. I guess this is what separates the good machines from the less expensive ones. You do get what you pay for.

So after stringing a Babolat Aeropro Drive GT with Kirschbaum 1.23 gauge Proline 2 at 50 lbs, I did notice the string job was tighter than when I strung it on the Gamma 6500 ELS. I just hope the racquet plays the same otherwise I might have to drop the string tension by 2-3 lbs.

If my Gamma 6500 ELS electronic constant pull stringer can lose 2-3 lbs of tension after a year or so of use, I wonder how accurate some of these crank and drop weight machines with floating clamps really are. When I ask people what tension they string their racquet and they tell me 58 lbs and I push on the string bed, my 50 lbs strung on my Babolat Star 5 feels just as stiff.