PDA

View Full Version : What do you think about this stringing technique?

Litespeeds
02-02-2012, 05:42 PM
I have been stringing my racquet for almost 6 months now with a modified proportional string method.

Let's say I want to have a 50 lbs string job on a 16x20 frame. What I do is I pull the 2 center mains at 50 lbs, then the next hole is 49, then 48, 47, 45, 42, 38 and 32.

I start the crosses at 32, then to 36, 38, 40, 42, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 48, 47, 46, 45, and so on.

When I do the string job this method and use a Gamma string tension meter to check the tension of the mains and crosses, they seem to be consistant throughout the racquet. All the mains register around 43lbs and all the crosses register around 30lbs.

When I string a racquet the regular way with 50 lbs all around, I find that the tensions towards the sides and upper and lower parts of the stringbed is tighter. This leads me to believe the sweet spot is smaller when strung the conventional way.

My question is:
Does my modified proportional stringjob open up the sweetspot? I know it is better for my arm when I mishit as the shock is not as harsh felt.

This definitely takes more time to string but I feel it is worth it. What are your thoughts?

ATP100
02-02-2012, 07:16 PM
If you like it, keep doing it. There a lot of reasons people will go into......blah blah blah.......go practice your strokes.

Davis Cup Fan
02-02-2012, 08:10 PM
Go with what you feel is best. If you like it strung that way and play well use it.

Irvin
02-03-2012, 04:24 AM
Does it open the sweet spot? I doubt it, but you think it does.

50 lbs hurts your arm but an average of 42.72222 feels softer and does not hurt your arm. Hummm? Why not just try 42 lbs? How did you come up with the tensions you have now? You could tune each string to the same frequency and as you do that your shorter strings will have a lower tension. The concept for determining your tension is explained here: